Eat

Food is an interesting topic. As the old saying goes, some of us eat to live, others live to eat.

If anything, food is a great conversation starter. In front of clients, food breaks the ice faster than any alcoholic beverage. Among friends, something as simple as “the best (insert food item here)” question will trigger hours of entertainment.

Heaven in a bowl

Heaven in a bowl: Vietnamese pho

Through Twitter, I’ve met a bunch of like-minded foodies. Our lunch tweetups are fun, eating anything from not too authentic Indonesian food to down-home cha charn teng goodness. The conversations are lovely around piping hot food. The best thing I love about these tweetups are that we actually learn more about each other, putting a face to an avatar. On top of that, I am glad I can meet new people that have no other intentions but to enjoy a great meal and each others’ company. Living in Hong Kong for a little more than 3 years now, I’m so sick of the whole “biz card swap / what do you do?” so-called networking ordeal. I just want to make friends sometimes.

About this entry